Contact Us

Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies 
North Carolina State University 
Campus Box 8103 
Raleigh, NC 27695-8103

Main Office: Withers Hall 340 
Phone: 919-515-3214
Fax: 919-513-4351
Email: phil_rel@ncsu.edu

Department Administration

​Department Head

Dr. Michael Pendlebury
Withers 340C, 919-515-6103, mjpendle@ncsu.edu

Associate Department Head
Dr. David Austin
Withers 340B, 919-515-6333, david_austin@ncsu.edu

Director of Religious Studies
Dr. Jason C. Bivins
Withers 447, 919-515-6102, jcbivins@ncsu.edu

Executive Assistant 
Ms. Ann P. Rives, CPS 
Withers 340A, 919-515-6101, ann_rives@ncsu.edu or phil_rel@ncsu.edu

Student Services Assistant 
Ms. Joanna A. Kim 
Withers 340A, 919-515-6100, jakim2@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Advising 
Dr. Catherine Driscoll
Withers 434B, 919-513-7846, catherine_driscoll@ncsu.edu

Senior Advisers
Philosophy:
 Dr. Robert Mabrito
Withers 434-C, 919-513-7978, robert_mabrito@ncsu.edu
Religious Studies: Dr. Jason Bivins
Withers 447, 919-515-6102, jcbivins@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Minor Advisers
Cognitive Science: Dr. Catherine M. Driscoll
Withers 434B, 919-513-7846, catherine_driscoll@ncsu.edu
Ethics: Dr. Tim Hinton
Withers 456, 919-513-7941, tim_hinton@ncsu.edu
Health, Medicine & Human Values: Dr. Gary Comstock
Withers 458, 919-515-6173, gcomstock@ncsu.edu
Logic & Methodology: Dr. John Carroll
Withers 457, 919-515-6140, john_carroll@ncsu.edu
Philosophy: Dr. John Carroll
Withers 457, 919-515-6140, john_carroll@ncsu.edu
Religious Studies: Dr. Jason C. Bivins
Withers 447, 919-515-6102, jcbivins@ncsu.edu

Director of the Cognitive Science Program and Adviser, Graduate Minor in Cognitive Science
Dr. Ronald P. Endicott
Withers 455, 919-515-6195, ron_endicott@ncsu.edu

Honors Directors
Philosophy: Dr. John W. Carroll
Withers 457, 919-515-6140, john_carroll@ncsu.edu
Religious Studies: Dr. Mary Kathleen Cunningham
Withers 347, 919-515-6105, mk_cunningham@ncsu.edu

Student Club Advisers
Academic Study of Religion Club: Dr. Levi McLaughlin
​Withers 425, 919-515-6337, lmclaug2@ncsu.edu
Philosophy Club: Dr. Stephen Puryear
Withers 345, 919-515-6106, smpuryear@ncsu.edu