Skip to main content

2021 Newsletter

sign with COVID guidelines on door

May 27, 2021

In Brief: More News from the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies

Some further news from the Department is presented briefly here. 

NC State's belltower near Holladay Hall

May 27, 2021

Looking Back: Department News from the Past

The present and the future are rooted in the past. This column features some department news from the past fifty years. 

Barbara Levenbook headshot

May 27, 2021

Barbara Levenbook Retires

The Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies held a virtual event on the afternoon of April 30 to honor Barbara Levenbook on the occasion of her retirement and to celebrate her 41-year academic career at NC State. 

headshot of Veljko Dubljevic

May 27, 2021

Dubljevic Garners Honors

Veljko Dubljevic, an assistant professor of philosophy and STS at NC State who specializes in the ethics of emerging science and technology, racked up three major achievements during Spring 2021. 

headshot of Stephen Ferguson

May 27, 2021

Work in Progress: Ferguson on the Philosophy of Black Popular Culture

In this article, Stephen Ferguson, associate professor of philosophy and Africana studies, discusses his work on his next book. 

headshot of Joseph Levine

May 27, 2021

Former Faculty Feature: Joseph Levine

Joseph Levine, who is now a professor of philosophy at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, served on the philosophy faculty at NC State from 1986 to 2000. 

structure of Talley Student Union

Mar 26, 2021

Top Seniors Win Philosophy and Religious Studies Prizes

The NC State Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies recognized the academic achievements of its top seniors at a virtual Student Awards Celebration on March 12. The two award-winners were introduced by faculty members who had worked closely with them. 

Withers Hall on NC State's campus in fall

Aug 11, 2020

New Faculty in Religious Studies

The religious studies program at NC State has been strengthened by the appointment of two new scholars to its continuing faculty in Fall 2020.